Hoylake Chamber Concert Series
Registered Charity No.243866

classical music, chamber music, liverpool, merseyside, concerts
Monday 27 April 2015
at 7.30pm

Alke Quartet

Haydn: String Quartet in G, Op.64 No.4

Ades: Arcadiana, Op.12


Schubert: String Quartet in G, D.887

    • Haydn's Opus 64 quartets were written in 1790. Their first performances in Britain were at concerts in June 1791 under the direction of the impressario Salomon at the Festino Rooms in Hanover Square, London.   Salomen subsequently visited Haydn in Vienna and persuaded him to visit London for the first of his two extended stays in England.

    • Arcadiana is a seven short movement quartet composed by Thomas Ades.

    • Schubert's final quartet in G is one of his greatest works.   It is twelve years since we last programmed this work in a concert season.

    Described at "exuberant and energetic", the Alke Quartet are a dynamic emerging talent in chamber music.   Formerly called the Palomino Quartet, the quartet comprises members from Korea, England, Ireland and New Zealand.

    Recent finalists in the St. Martin's Chamber Music Competition 2013 and Ernest Bloch Music Competition 2012, the Palomino Quartet hold a residency in St. Peter's Church, Streatham, which they share with the Berkeley Ensemble who have featured in two of our concert seasons recently.   They are also part of the ChamberStudio Scheme at King's Place, where they have performed in master classes with David Waterman and Richard Ireland.